Sheriff's Department

Duties of the Department

The Sheriff is the chief law enforcement officer in Lawrence County with duties in four categories: keeping the peace, attending the courts, serving the process and orders of the courts, and operating the jail.

Additional Information

Lawrence County Sheriff John Myers was elected to his second four-year term in August 2022. His administrative team includes Chief Deputy George Barturen and Captain Jackie Heard. Other divisions include:

This includes all deputies who patrol Lawrence County 24/7 in four rotating shifts. Each shift is commanded by a Sergeant and the entire division is supervised by Patrol Lieutenant Trent Haddock.

About the Sheriff

Sheriff John Myers’ career in law enforcement started at the Sheriff’s Department in 1992, where he worked as a Correctional Officer, then Patrol Deputy, then Investigator/K-9 Handler.

In 1997 he began working at the 22nd Judicial Drug & Violent Crime Task Force as Senior Agent over the Interstate/Highway Interdiction Unit and Chief K-9 Handler. In 2004 he became the Task Force Director.

Later that year he deployed to Kosovo and worked as a Police Trainer and Unit Commander of a Regional Narcotics Unit in support of the United Nations Mission there. In 2006 he returned to active duty at the 22nd Judicial Drug & Violent Crime Task Force.

In 2011 Myers began serving as an Explosives K-9 Handler with AMK-9/SOC at the US Embassy in Baghdad Iraq with the Baghdad Embassy Security Force (BESF).

After returning from Iraq he was employed at the Lawrence County Sheriff’s Department from 2013 to 2014. In 2014 he was appointed Chief of Police at the Ethridge Police Department where he was employed until being elected Sheriff.
Sheriff John Myers

Contact Information

John Myers, Lawrence County Sheriff
240 West Gaines St.
Lawrenceburg, TN 38464

Phone: 931-762-3626

Hours of Operation

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 4:00 pm